Body inflation

Bloating with water, how much is too much? (before you need to add something to it)

lol it kills you dude, something about electrolysis poisoning...

I'm no expert, but it's not something i'd play around with.
14 years

Bloating with water, how much is too much? (before you need to add something to it)

jockturnedgainer wrote
Of course almost everyone has heard "if you drink a whole gallon of water without salt, something horrible will happen to you."

I understand the logic behind this from a scientific standpoint, causing the body to go into a sort of "hypertonic shock" but how much is too much really?

On numerous occasions I've downed a gallon of water or slightly more without adding salt or anything else to it and was just fine. Everyone's body chemistry is different but at what point do you really NEED some sort of additive to prevent problems?

If you're going to do a liquid stuffing it's best to do it with a sports drink like gatoraide. Though this won't comepletely eliminate the effects of water intoxication, it helps. Plus if you drink to much of the sports drink, i/e enough to cause water intoxication, you're likely to vomit before it becomes a problem; which though messy can save your life
14 years

jockturnedgainer wrote
I didn't ask about the effects, I'm fully aware of what they are...

I'm wondering at what point is it dangerous

Basically what all of us are saying is not to use large amounts of water for stuffing/bloating. Use something else instead which already has minerals/electrolytes/sugars in it. It depends but usually water can start to cause problems when you get to the point where you have a head-ache.
14 years

Rockette wrote
Thankyou for posting that. I wasn't aware the guidelines around that had changed! Obviously I've not ran a marathon in a long time. smiley

Is that the que to poke you and say "fattie"? smiley

PeanutButter and Kellye wrote
Maximum wrote
lol it kills you dude, something about electrolysis poisoning...